Master Key Week 22 – I thought a thought…

Has anyone ever heard that tongue twister “I thought a thought but the thought I thought was not the thought I thought I thought”? That used to be my favourite tongue twister.

This week, though, with our newest Master Key lesson, I wonder if that funny little twister might have a bit of wisdom. In the introduction to Part 22, Haanel writes that “…thoughts are spiritual seeds, which, when planted in the subconscious mind, have a tendency to sprout and grow, but unfortunately the fruit is frequently not to our liking.”

Also, in sentence 7, “We are all using this (mental) power every minute. The trouble is most of us are using it unconsciously and thus producing undesirable results.”

I’m sure most of us imperfect people have had odd thoughts that we’ve allowed ourselves to dwell upon, yes? You walk down the street and you see someone whose appearance, for some reason (clothing, hair, weight, anything) is strange/odd/weird/not great/bad in your opinion. You have some sort of thought, like “Oh my gosh WHY do people dye their hair purple?” This type of thought could be just an observation, or it could be a passing state of honest puzzlement…or, it could be a judgemental thought. (Please note that this is just an example and that I have nothing against people in possession of purple hair 😀 ) Now, if we allow ourselves to dwell on this thought, eventually we will attract other such thoughts. “…every impression is a seed which will sink into the subconscious and form a tendency; the tendency will be to attract other similar thoughts and before we know it we shall have crop which must be harvested.” So soon, walking down the street, we spot more people with purple hair and become increasingly incensed at the widespread trend of this unnatural hue. You thought a thought (“Omg WHY do people dye their hair purple”), but the thought you thought, was not the thought you thought you thought (simple, with no far-reaching consequences).

For the record, I’ve had the unpleasant experience of having people point out other people whose appearance is somehow “objectionable”…not only does it mess up your own thinking and put you on a negative focus, but it also draws surrounding people into that negative focus.

I’ve often had the thought that “You know, my thoughts are my own, so I’m going to think whatever I want.” Fine. But! That was from the standpoint where I didn’t think that my thoughts -just my thoughts – had much power. Now that I’ve learned that they do, I’m trying to regulate them more. So this week I’ve been trying to, for about five minutes every day, go through an imaginary day (or part of a day) of my future self. At first it was kind of difficult, because I have to imagine my house and piano and surrounding areas, etc., but the longer I continue the easier it gets.

The first time that I read lesson 22 this week, during my first sit of the week, I got really excited. The lesson talks a lot about healing and disease and thoughts controlling physical health and all that…but what I really latched on to was the power of thought in creating oneself. “We are all using this power every minute.” So every minute, every moment, I am creating myself. Every minute I can examine my thoughts and figure out what “me” I am creating. Am I creating someone who I want to become? Am I creating a loving, wise person? Or am I creating someone who makes bad decisions? Who am I creating? That. Is. Amazing.

 

12 thoughts on “Master Key Week 22 – I thought a thought…

  1. I LOVE this, especially when I picture you picturing your house, your pianos, your ballet room…you inspire me (and I am sure I am not the only one you have that effect on! 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A Killer post again Arielle. Well done. So much great info. Your insight and grasping of what is not ” bed time reading” is amazing. I love your closing paragraph. Something to “sit” on, especially this week, where we dont have a specific Haanel exercise. Nice Chatting with you yesterday, during our tribe “get together”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Martin! I’m glad I was able to provide some thoughts for you to sit on. It was lovely chatting with you as well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

